About Us


Huron Valley Woodturners invite you to the  9th Annual Holiday Benefit/Sale for the Webster Township Historical Society and The Virtual Dialysis Support Center 



Crossroads Community Center 5501 Webster Church Rd. Dexter, MI 48189 

contact: Erica Perry  at eperry@umich.edu 

bowls paintings pens ornaments ice cream scoops goblets vases urns ornaments platters vessels lamps and more


The Huron Valley Woodturners is a chapter of the American Association of Woodturners (AAW) that is local to the Ann Arbor, MI, and surrounding area. We have been an organized woodturning club since 2006 and currently have about 25-30 members.
Our goals include providing a forum for sharing woodturning information and resources among our members, as well as continuing education in the art of wood-turning. We also participate in charitable activities such as an annual holiday sale typically in early December with a portion of the sales going to local charities.
We are not a large group so there is plenty of time for interaction at our meetings where we discuss topics including: tools, techniques, local, regional, and national wood-turning events, special programs, classes, material and training resources, and current member activities.

Due to the Covid situation, we are currently only meeting online via Zoom.

At our in-person meetings (temporarily suspended), we usually have demonstrations/presentations by club turners, though we sometimes bring in highly regarded nonmember turners. The presentations usually highlight turning techniques for all skill levels, and often provide the opportunity to try techniques on a club lathe in a group setting.
Our typical online Zoom meeting may include:
A short business discussion and updates on club activities.
A moderated show and tell of member’s recent activities.
A discussion of safety in the woodturning shop.
A turning presentation by a club member or a review of an online turning video with discussion of techniques involved.
Reviews of tools or other resources by club members who wish to share those.
Other woodturning-related topics brought up by members.
Occasionally the club has hired professionals to do interactive remote turning demonstrations via Zoom for club members. This was done twice in 2020 and is planned to occur once or twice in 2021, depending on club finances.
A raffle of donated items has been a regular part of the in-person meetings in the past. We are currently evaluating how to resume these in our on-line meeting format.
We typically meet on the 3rd Sunday of each month from 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM via the Zoom online meeting platform. Nonmembers who wish to attend one of our online meetings should contact a club officer or send a message to the club email address ( huronvalleywoodturners@gmail.com ). Membership dues have been reduced to $30 for 2021 in consideration of the Covid-19 pandemic – they are normally $60 annually. Youth membership is free through age 17. While not required, membership in the American Association of Woodturners (AAW) is also encouraged. This provides access to a wide range of information and resources not available at the local level.
When we resume meeting in person. hopefully later this year, the meetings will be held at the Crossroads Community Center located at 5501 Webster Church Rd, Dexter, MI 48130.

July 11, 2021

HURON VALLEY WOODTURNERS July 11, 2021 General Meeting Summary There were 11 attendees for this meeting that started at 1:03pm. An announcement was made that one of our members, Jack Frost, passed away on July 5. The Club will make a donation to the designated charity in his name (Habitat for Humanity). An explanation of …

Read more

January 17, 2021

HURON VALLEY WOODTURNERS January 17, 2021 Membership Zoom Meeting Summary Officer Pre-Meeting A few items discussed just prior to the general meeting included:  The final draft of the About Us information on the website,  Updating the member list sent to vendors for discounts  Decided to start paying for our Zoom account on …

Read more